Skyhunter by Marie Lu (Excerpt) // ARC Book Review

Skyhunter (Skyhunter #1) by Marie Lu

Goodreads Rating: 4.36 / 5 Stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 Stars

Release Date: 29 September 2020 by Roaring Brook Press

Genre: Young Adult Sci-fi, Fantasy

Recommend to: Fans of Marie Lu. Lovers of Young Adult Dystopian or Sci-fi books. Anyone who wants a little excitement from the very first chapter.

Synopsis

A broken world.
An overwhelming evil.
A team of warriors ready to strike back.

Talin is a Striker, a member of an elite fighting force that stands as the last defense for the only free nation in the world: Mara.

A refugee, Talin knows firsthand the horrors of the Federation, a world-dominating war machine responsible for destroying nation after nation with its terrifying army of mutant beasts known only as Ghosts.

But when a mysterious prisoner is brought from the front to Mara’s capital, Talin senses there’s more to him than meets the eye. Is he a spy from the Federation? What secrets is he hiding?

Only one thing is clear: Talin is ready to fight to the death alongside her fellow Strikers for the only homeland she has left . . . with or without the boy who might just be the weapon to save—or destroy—them all.

My Review

I only got to read the first couple chapters and that was more than enough for me to realise how much I love this book.

Within the first chapter, Marie Lu is doing what she does best: throwing our hearts on the floor and stomping on them. Of course, this is a good thing because being emotionally involved in the characters so early on means the writing and character building was done fantastically.

We are introduced into this intriguing world, where a nation is constantly fighting to make sure it stays free from the Karensa Federation and its mutant soldiers. Our main character, Talin, is introduced as one of the Strikers. Part of the fighters that protect the free nation of Mara. I love the concept of the shield and striker basically being each other’s shadows. They are so in tune with each other and this creates some amazing relationships between the characters. The concept and the introduction we got to the world were great.

Talin is a fantastic and strong willed character. She has determination and heart that made me adore her from the first page. She fights with everything she has and even though a lot is going against her, she keeps pushing.

Within the first chapter we get to know and love some of the side characters too. And the action starts almost immediately. The first chapter was gripping and the way that Marie Lu started with an action scene adds a lot of tension and excitement from the get go. I got the first 3 chapters and the ending of chapter 3 was really intriguing. I can’t wait to read more. I was especially intrigued by the new mysterious character introduced right at the end of the preview. I’m not sure where the book will go but I am definitely hoping some of my favourite tropes might appear. I can see a couple of possibilities but knowing Marie Lu, I will definitely be surprised a couple of times in this story.

We have some good rep happening here. There is some LGBTQ+ rep, as well as representation for mutism. Our MC is unable to talk and from what she explains, it is from some physical trauma to her throat. So she uses sign language in all of her communications which was amazing rep to see.

Since I only got the first couple of chapters, there is a lot for me to still figure out about Skyhunter. So far I am very excited about the story and I can’t wait to get a hold of the full book on release day.

Happy Reading !

Gizelle ✨

Favourite Quote

I’m going to find a way to walk through life with courage seared into my bones.

Chapter 3

I was provided this ARC by the publishers and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way effects my review.

Author: Gizelle Iworth

I am currently studying Psychology and English at the University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s